Trending Topics

NAEMT elects 2014 board members

Meet the new and returning members, who take office January 1

CLINTON, Miss. — The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) announced the results of the NAEMT Board of Directors election for volunteer positions in the 2014-2015 term:

  • Region I Director (re-elect): Scott Matin, New Jersey
  • Region II Director: Cory Richter, Florida
  • Region III Director: Aimee Binning, Wyoming
  • Region IV Director (re-elect): Bruce Evans, Colorado
  • At-Large Director (re-elect): Ben Chlapek, Missouri

All NAEMT Active members had the opportunity to vote in this election from October 15-28. The 2014 Board of Directors takes office on January 1. Joining President Don Lundy in continuing on the Board are: Chuck Kearns, President-Elect; Jim Judge, Secretary; Dennis Rowe, Treasurer; Connie Meyer, Immediate Past President; Jim Slattery, Region I Director; Chad McIntyre, Region II Director; Chris Cebollero, Region III Director; Rod Barrett, Region IV Director; Matt Zavadsky, At-Large Director; and Paul Hinchey, Medical Director.

“Please join me in congratulating our new Board members, and thanks to the members who voted in the election,” said NAEMT President Don Lundy. “Our gratitude goes out to all of the candidates for their interest in serving as leaders of NAEMT and their dedication to our Association and all of the EMS practitioners we represent.”

About the Newly Elected Board Members

Scott Matin is Vice President of Clinical & Business Services at MONOC Mobile Health Services, Wall, N.J.— New Jersey’s largest provider of EMS, ambulance and aeromedical services. Over the past year, Matin chaired the NAEMT Membership Committee and lead the Principles of Ethics and Personal Leadership (PEPL) Committee to develop a 16-hour CEU program for EMTs and Paramedics. He also serves on NAEMT’s Community Paramedicine and Advocacy Committees, and is a liaison to the American Ambulance Association and the Association of Air Medical Services. Matin hopes to “strengthen our profession — which I have dedicated my life to — because it is among the most honorable and respectable professions a person can have.”

Cory Richter is a Paramedic for Indian River Fire Rescue in Florida. He also is active in NAEMT as State Advocacy Coordinator, Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS) State Coordinator, Affiliate Faculty and Instructor, PreHospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Affiliate Faculty and Instructor, and Emergency Pediatric Care (EPC) Instructor. Richter has devoted years to state-level EMS issues, one being the creation of the Florida Drug Shortage Committee. He hopes to “continue to address the needs of EMS and push for better standards and organization at the national level, and push to take EMS to the next level and beyond. EMS is at a pivotal time and we need board members with big aspirations and the tenacity to see them through,” says Richter.

Amy Binning is a full-time practitioner for Sublette County EMS (SCEMS) in Pinedale, Wyo., where she was formerly Educational Coordinator, Secretary, Special Events Coordinator, and volunteer. Binning has served NAEMT as Region III Director, Health and Safety Committee member, Membership Committee chair, course educator, and an NAEMT Foundation Trustee. She was also a recipient of the NAEMT Presidential Leadership Award, and has been an advocate for EMS at the federal level by participating in various meetings and collaborations with EMS related groups. Binning states, “I will represent each of you to achieve our goals and realize our full potential as the Nation’s voice for EMS practitioners.”

Bruce Evans is the Deputy Chief at the Upper Pine River Fire Protection District, outside of Durango, Colo. He is a retired EMS Chief from the North Las Vegas, Nev., Fire Department, after serving 27 years in the Southern Nevada EMS system. He is an adjunct faculty member of the National Fire Academy in the EMS, Incident Management, and Terrorism Training programs. Bruce was also a recipient of the prestigious James O. Page EMS Achievement Award. “I have served in almost every aspect of EMS — hospital, fire, police, third-service, helicopter, and private ambulance, volunteer, and paid services — which helps bring a well-rounded perspective to NAEMT, as it strives to meet the needs of our membership,” says Evans.

Ben Chlapek is Chair of the NAEMT Military Relations Committee. Involved in NAEMT for more than 30 years, Chlapek has served as the Missouri representative to the NAEMT Board of Governors and Deputy Chief of the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District in Blue Springs, Mo. He also holds an A.A. in Fire Science, a B.A. degree in Chemistry, an M.P.A. degree in Public Affairs, as well as an M.S. in Homeland Security Studies. He retired as Lieutenant Colonel from the U.S. Army after 36 years of proud service. Wounded in Afghanistan, Chlapek works to help veterans. He states, “I believe that serving our profession is an honor — an opportunity to serve the people in our profession — and a duty.”

The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) is the only national membership association for EMS practitioners, including Paramedics, EMTs, First Responders, and other professionals working in prehospital emergency medicine. More than 30,000 NAEMT members work in all sectors of EMS, including government third service agencies, fire departments, hospital-based ambulance services, private companies, industrial and special operations settings and in the military. NAEMT is the united voice representing all EMS practitioners on the issues that matter most. For more information, visit