Trending Topics

Fitch EMS Foundation announces 2023-2024 scholarship recipients

The scholarships support the development of leadership and education in EMS


By Bill Carey

PLATTE CITY, Mo. — Fifteen EMS leaders and professionals have been selected from over 65 applicants to become the newest recipients of Fitch EMS Foundation scholarships.

The scholarships were offered in several categories including leadership mentoring, industry-specific leadership education and degree completion. Membership fee waivers for several national associations were also offered.

The 2023-2024 scholarship recipients are:

  • Johnathan Branscum, Ambulance Service Manager (ASM) program scholarship

  • Jessika Turner, Communication Center Management (CCM) program scholarship

  • Miranda Webster, Degree Completion scholarship

  • Horace C. Johnston III, 2024 Pinnacle EMS Leadership Forum scholarship and American College of Paramedic Executives (ACPE) scholarship

  • Daniel Garner, National EMS Management Association (NEMSMA) membership waiver

  • Gene Smith, National Association of EMTs (NAEMT) scholarship

  • Patrick DiCanio

  • Mitchell Weaver

  • Nicholas Lesch

  • Kier Smith

  • Elliot Mitzelfeld

  • Darryl McClanahan, Leader Mentoring Program scholarship

  • Blake Severson, Allison Bloom Memorial Scholarship, endowed by the Allison Bloom Foundation.  

Kayla Welwood was named this year’s recipient of the Jack Stout EMS Fellowship, endowed by FirstWatch, and John Ehrhart was named the inaugural recipient of the James O. Page Legacy Scholarship, endowed by Hartwell Medical.

“The Foundation and its partners are proud to invest more than $85,000 in leadership development and education this year. We are again providing several leader mentoring scholarships, which I will be personally facilitating and look forward to each year,” Executive Director Dr. Jay Fitch said. 

The Fitch EMS Foundation supports leadership development and research efforts for EMS and public safety. It also promotes leadership diversity, education, health equity and improved engagement among service leaders and the communities they serve. Applications for next year’s scholarships will open in early 2024 at