Trending Topics

Foundation has awarded more than $400,000 in scholarships to students, firefighters, EMS providers

The Charlie Riley Community Service Scholarship Foundation has given 333 scholarships over 17 years


Photo/Charlie Riley Community Service Scholarship Foundation

By Matt Button
The Aegis

BEL AIR, Md. — The Charlie Riley Community Service Scholarship Foundation celebrated a milestone in scholarship awards at its annual awards ceremony on Nov. 9.

In the foundation’s 17-year history, they have awarded 333 scholarships totaling over $400,000 to Harford County students and Fire/EMS personnel, including $29,500 in scholarships awarded during the event, held at Level Volunteer Fire Company in Havre de Grace.

A total of 20 scholarships were presented: 12 scholarships to seniors from Harford County high schools and eight to Harford County Fire and EMS volunteers. The honorees have served through community service, extracurricular activities and leadership, and practice the foundation’s motto, “Doers of the Word.”

The high school honorees, each receiving a $1,500 scholarship to be applied toward higher education, were: Jenna Amrhein, North Harford High School; Bailey Benson, C. Milton Wright High School; Chloe Davies, John Carroll High School; Ella Holbrook, Harford Christian School; Erica Honadel, Aberdeen High School; Anita Hooshangi, Patterson Mill High School; Jaydhen Johnson, Joppatowne High School; Molly Martin, Havre de Grace High School; Emily Paslick, Edgewood High School; Justin States, Harford Technical High School; and Shreena Thakker, Bel Air High School.

The grand-prize award winner, who received an additional $1,500 scholarship, was Hannah Richard from Fallston High School.

The Fire and EMS honorees, each receiving $1,000 scholarship to be applied toward higher education, were: Abbey Huneke, Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company; Alyssa Johnson, Level Volunteer Fire Company; William Lawder, Susquehanna Hose Company; Benjamin Leo, Havre de Grace Ambulance Corps; Sean Mohr, Whiteford Volunteer Fire Company; Seth Panowitz, Bel Air Volunteer Fire Company; and Zachary Shilling, Abingdon Fire Company.

The Fire and EMS grand-prize award winner, who received an additional $2,000 scholarship, was Cailey Etchison from Fallston Volunteer Fire Company.

Two additional award presentations were made at this year’s banquet. The foundation’s Support Award was presented to Heather and Brad Strahorn. The Jerry Anderson Sr. Service Award was given to Jill Miller.

The foundation also awards scholarships to graduates of the Harford County Volunteer Fire/EMS Association High School Cadet Program. This funding will provide college-level education and career training for cadets who desire to further their education. Students enroll in their school’s work-based learning course, in which they leave school for half a day to complete training and other requirements at the Maryland Fire & Rescue Institute. Cadets who complete the program will receive a scholarship from the foundation in May.

The scholarship program honors the memory of the late Charles W. Riley, a 52-year member and former chief of the Abingdon Fire Company. Riley was also a member of the Harford-Cecil Volunteer Fireman’s Association, past-president of the Maryland State Fireman’s Association and served under four different governors as chairman of the state’s training commission. Riley is a member of the Maryland State Fireman’s Association Hall of Fame.


(c)2023 The Aegis (Bel Air, Md.)
Visit The Aegis (Bel Air, Md.) at
Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.