Trending Topics

NAEMSP 2018 Conference breaks attendance records, reveals new major initiative

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) is proud to announce its 2018 conference held in San Diego, CA on January 8 -13, 2018 was a record success with the highest-ever attendance, including more than half the NAEMSP membership. #NAEMSP2018 also garnered more than six million Twitter impressions, with dedicated leadership from NAEMSP’s Communications Committee and Chair, Dr. Hawnwan “Phil” Moy.

Announced by President Brent Myers, MD, MPH, FAEMS in the conference’s opening President’s Address, NAEMSP’s recently intensifying federal policy advocacy work will now be bolstered by a newly-launched political action committee (PAC) known as NAEMSPPAC.

NAEMSP PAC is the most ethical, transparent way to advance NAEMSP’s advocacy work and mature our relationships with members of Congress who engage with us on policy solutions,” says President Myers. “It’s also a natural continuation of NAEMSP’s mission to improve out-of-hospital patient care and it will meaningfully bolster our recently intensifying advocacy efforts.”

NAEMSPPAC builds upon NAEMSP’s success with the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act (H.R. 304). An NAEMSP charge led by Advocacy Chair, Ritu Sahni, MD, FAEMS, H.R. 304 protects EMS’s ability to use standing orders despite pending Drug Enforcement Agency regulations, and was signed into federal law in November 2017.

Our work on H.R. 304 really demonstrated the power of advocacy: not only for ourselves, but for our patients,” says Dr. Sahni. “NAEMSP members clearly agree with the value of this effort - within its first month, the PAC has grown to $61,036 with 63 individual donors.”

NAEMSP’s first ever President’s Challenge Coin was also revealed at NAEMSP2018, and will be given as an annual honor to NAEMSP members who uniquely contribute to the organization and industry. Coinciding with the reveal of NAEMSPPAC, the coin will also be offered to those who donate in its inaugural year.

NAEMSP’s most significant annual honors were also awarded at the conference. Details on these extraordinary recipients is available on the NAEMSP website, and include:

President’s Award
Bestowed for exceptional commitment to NAEMSP and in furthering its work, the 2018 President’s Award was given posthumously to Michael Guttenburg, DO, FAEMS and Salvatore Silvestri, MD.

Friends of EMS Award
Given to an individual or organization for furthering NAEMSP’s mission through advocating on national public policy, the 2018 Friends of EMS Award was presented to Robert Wagoner.

Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award
Presented to an active or past member who provided momentous leadership within NAEMSP, the 2018 Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award was given to Susan McHenry.

Ronald D. Stewart Award
Bestowed to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the national EMS community, the 2018 Ronald D. Stewart Award was given to Baxter Larmon, PhD.

About the National Association of Emergency Services Physicians (NAEMSP)
The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) is an organization of physicians and other professionals partnering to provide leadership and foster excellence in the subspecialty of EMS medicine.